Green Africa Flight Ariways

Table of Contents

Share:

Following the skyrocketing prices of almost everything in Nigeria which hydrocarbon (fuel/petroleum products prices) happens to be on the high side—making cost of transportation extremely high. Many people have been scouting for cheaper medium to transport themselves since they can’t afford not to use the transit daily for either movement, business transaction, exploration or whatever reasons why humans uses the transit.

Over the social media is this trending mass transit company, ‘Green Africa’(Green Africa Airways – GreenAfrica.com), for its extremely cheap booking fees.

Let’s say, if other normal transit companies pricing for Abuja to Lagos is about 70,000 naira, Green Africa would simply take you on for 20,000. Highly unbelievable, right? But that’s it!

In this process we’ve got quite a number of requests from our users here at ANE Travels questing about GreenAfrica if they are truly real with their mouthwatering prices or they are just another fake platform parading themselves as a cheap booking company? Prices that’ll get you asking ‘Na so aviation fuel don cheap reach?!’

With no further ado, let’s jump right into it.

What is [About] Green Africa?

GreenAfrica, better put, ‘Green Africa Airways Ltd,’ founded on June 15, 2015, however, didn’t commence operation until August 12, 2021, is a Nigerian airline, based in Lagos, Nigeria.

Green Africa Airways was founded on 15 June 2015 by Babawande Afolabi, who serves as the chief executive officer. It was a new low-cost carrier targeting the Nigerian air travel market. Operations were originally planned to start in 2019, but have since been delayed. In mid-2018, the airline received the necessary operating licenses from the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority. Green Africa’s Board of directors consists of industry veterans including Tom Horton, former chairman and CEO of American Airlines; Virasb Vahidi, former CCO of American Airlines; Wale Adeosun, founder and CEO of Kuramo Capital; and Gbenga Oyebode, founder and Chairman of Aluko & Oyebode.

Green Africa Airways Logo
Green Africa Airways Logo

In late 2018, Green Africa announced a letter of intent for 50 Boeing 737 MAX 8s, with an option for a further 50 aircraft. It was the largest order intention Boeing had ever received from an African airline. The order was valued $11.7 billion, according to list prices. However, this letter of intent was withdrawn in February 2020, and the airline instead opted to sign a memorandum of understanding for 50 Airbus A220-300s, which – if actually placed – would also be the largest order Airbus has ever received from an African carrier. Deliveries are scheduled to begin in 2021.

In order to bridge the gap between the first delivery, Green Africa has agreed to lease three A220-300s from GTLK Europe, so that operations would start in 2020, but these were also not delivered. In August 2020, Green Africa announced ex-Chief Financial Officer of SpiceJet – Kiran Koteshwar as the new Group Chief Financial officer starting from September 2020.

On 12 August 2021 the airline commenced operations with the first flight touching down at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport in Abuja, Nigeria.

In August 2021, Kenny Wole Awosika, his cofounder filed suit against Green Africa Airways and Babawande Afolabi for $30 million, alleging that they both founded the airline and was not provided with the agreed upon stake in the business. Mr. Awosika, had no choice to take on the civil action after 2 years of failed mediation and no progress with The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). The matter remains in court.

Green Africa Airways intends to initially serve the Nigerian domestic market with plans to further expand service across the African continent.

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU  All SLOT Stores Address In Nigeria, Location, Phone Number, Email

How Green Africa Started

Growing up in Ile-Ife, Osun State, Babawande Afolabi was always fascinated by transportation.

The journey to where we are today started in 2011/2012 when Babawande was an Investment Banker at Morgan Stanley where he had an exposure to the transportation sector. This experience further galvanized his interest in the space, which led to the idea of exploring a Pan African value carrier based in Nigeria. He wanted everyone, including his teachers at Ambassadors College, Ile-Ife, to be able to hop on a plane at an affordable fare and chase their dreams.

In view of this idea, he dedicated his time as an MBA at Stanford GSB to learning more about the airline industry and took up a Summer Associate role at American Airlines in Dallas, TX.

Taking Actions

During his time at Stanford, he had the opportunity to spend time with some of his professors in the industry including, Prof. George Parker, former Board Member, United Airlines, Prof. Joel Peterson, Former Chairman, JetBlue Airways and an alumnus, William Shaw, Founder and Former CEO of Viva Columbia. As an associate at American Airlines, he was introduced to Thomas Horton, Former Chairman & CEO and Virasb Vahidi, Former CCO of American Airlines Group.

All of these senior industry leaders supported Babawande in bringing his vision to life with William Shaw, Thomas Horton, and Virasb Vahidi later becoming early investors and founding members of the Board of Directors.

December 2013, Babawande sent a cold email to Oby Ezekwesili, former World Bank Vice President for Africa. Surprisingly, she responded and became the first senior leader in Nigeria to believe and throw her weight behind the vision of a new value airline in the country. During the same period, he came up with the name for the airline – Green Africa Airways while celebrating the holiday with his family in Ile-Ife, Nigeria.

Funding

In 2014, a seed round of funding was raised primarily from Babawande’s friends, former colleagues and classmates from Illinois Wesleyan University (IWU) and Stanford GSB who contributed personal funds to support the vision.

In 2015, Green Africa was incorporated in Nigeria and in 2016, the first physical office was opened in Opebi, Lagos.

Through Kuramo Capital, Wale Adeosun made the first major institutional investment in Green Africa in 2017. Kuramo would later join hands with Par Capital Ventures and a seasoned group of global industry investors to back Green Africa with Series A round of funding between 2018 and 2019.

Moving Into Gear

In December 2018, Green Africa placed an order for up to 100 Boeing 737 Max aircraft making this the largest Boeing order from the African continent. This order was, however, canceled following the grounding of the aircraft by regulatory authorities across the globe for safety reasons. The 737 Max has since been ungrounded and back in service.

In February 2020, an order for 50 Airbus A220-300s was placed, however delivery has been deferred in light of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the industry.

To start operations in 2021, Green Africa has on lease agreement 3 ATR 72-600s from ACIA, and has plans to scale to up to 15 ATRs by the end of 2022. This will position Green Africa to become the largest operator of ATR in the region.

Green Africa is licensed by the Nigeria Government to operate Air Transport and received its Air Operators Certificate (AOC) from the NCAA in August 2021.

The Board

Green Africa is anchored by a group of senior industry leaders led by Tom Horton, Former Chairman & CEO of American Airlines, Wale Adeosun, Founder & CEO of Kuramo Capital, William Shaw, Founder and Former CEO of Viva Columbia, Virasb Vahidi, Former CCO of American Airlines, Gbenga Oyebode, Founder & Chairman of Aluko & Oyebode and Dave Dickson, Retired partner, EY.

Who is the owner/CEO of Green Africa?

Green Africa’s Board of directors consists of industry veterans includes Tom Horton, former chairman and CEO of American Airlines; Virasb Vahidi, former CCO of American Airlines; Wale Adeosun, founder and CEO of Kuramo Capital; and Gbenga Oyebode, founder and Chairman of Aluko & Oyebode.

Where is GreenAfrica’s company located?

Green Africa is an airline based in Lagos, Nigeria.

Reviews From Customers Who Have Previously Booked Flight With Green Africa

Below are reviews from users of Green Africa Airways.


GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

GreenAfrica Review-ANETravels

How Do I Book On Green Africa?

To book flight with Green Africa, kindly navigate through to their website via https://www.greenafrica.com/, right there on the homepage, you would see boxes to search for available flight. Or still, you can just click the Check-In at the top right corner of the homepage. Enter your booking location (‘From’ – ‘To’), then search.

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU  How To Avoid Scholarship Scams

Quite simple, ain’t it? Yes, it is!

Passengers planning to travel on Green Africa must have in their possession any of these documents which will be checked before boarding:

  • Driver’s License
  • International passport
  • National Identification Card
  • Permanent Voter Card
  • Work/Employment Identification Card

It is your responsibility to ensure details on any form of identification matches the details on the booking confirmation. It is also your responsibility to ensure all forms of identification are valid. Green Africa will not provide you with a refund of ticket, or bear any cost associated with the refusal to board due to invalid identification

How Much Is Green Africa Flight?

Your destination determines the prices. Except for your promo seasons, we can’t directly quote you the accurate price for Green Africa Flight. Meanwhile, if you need help checking for prices for a particular location, kindly interact with us here at ANE Travels via the comment section below, we’ll be very glad to reply you ASAP!

Why Is Green Africa Very Cheap?

Sincerely, we can’t accurately answer why. Hopefully, we’ll figure it out soon.

Green Africa Customer Care, WhatsApp, Email, Phone Number, Address

Nigeria Phone Number 0700 47336 237422
WhatsApp Number
Email Address info@greenafrica.com
Office Address 43B, Oduduwa Crescent, GRA, Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria.
Facebook https://web.facebook.com/greenafricaairways/
Twitter https://twitter.com/greenafrica
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/greenafrica__/
Website https://www.greenafrica.com/
LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/company/greenafricaairways

gCare Contact Center (Phone Number): 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422)
Office Address: 43B, Oduduwa Crescent, GRA, Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria.
Green Africa WhatsApp: loading…
gCare on Twitter: @gCareOnline
For bookings and enquiries: gcare@greenafrica.com
For group bookings: flycloser@greenafrica.com
General information: info@greenafrica.com
Media enquiries: media@greenafrica.com
Careers: careers.greenafrica.com

Conclusion

Before booking a flight with Green Africa Airways, it is important to have read and understand their terms and conditions. Most importantly, Green Africa is not a scam, they are legit and from our observations here at ANE Travels, their customer care service response is quite fast too. They are responsive.

Meanwhile, here’s a quick advice from us here at ANE Travels about Green Africa Airways Ltd.; when booking a flight (cheap flight, obviously) with Green Africa Airways, we recommend you book ahead of your schedule. Let’s say your main schedule is on the 7th of next month, kindly book them ahead before the date. That way, even if there’s a rerouted movement, you’d know you’re still safe and can still make it to your schedule. Green Africa is like ‘soole’ (cheap bus) on the highway.

What do you think about Green Africa, kindly share your experience with Green Africa via the comment section below.

Check out Green Africa Airways TOS;

Fare Categorieshttps://www.greenafrica.com/en-us/information/fare-categories/

Travel Documentshttps://www.greenafrica.com/en-us/information/travel-documents/

Green Africa Fleetshttps://www.greenafrica.com/en-us/information/our-fleet/

Terms and Conditionshttps://www.greenafrica.com/en-us/support/terms-and-conditions/

Privacy Policyhttps://www.greenafrica.com/en-us/support/privacy-policy/

FAQs

How can I book with Green Africa?

Book your next flight or Getaway with Green Africa – online at greenafrica.com.

You may also contact our gCare center on 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422) we would be happy to help. Please note that a fee of 2,000NGN will be applied.

Don’t see a flight you need? The flights may have been sold out or cancelled for operational reasons. We keep releasing our upcoming flight schedules periodically. All current times and routes are up to date and looking great!

Can I see how many seats are available at a certain fare?

Not yet! This feature is coming soon!

How many seats can I book at one time?

You are able to book up to 9 seats per booking.

To make a booking of 10 or more seats, please contact our gCare center on 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422) or email gcare@greenafrica.com.

Can I take a round trip flight that leaves out of a different city for the return?

In this case, you will need to book two one-way flights.

When do I have to pay for my flight?

Payment is required at the original time of booking. When you click the ‘pay’ button at the bottom of the payments page, you’re good to go!

How can I pay for my flight?

We accept all major cards including Visa, Mastercard, Mastercard Debit, Verve and Visa Debit.

We also plan to enable offline payments at Bank Branches, ATMs and Agent Points nationwide very soon!

Are payments made through the Green Africa website secure?

Absolutely! You can be rest assured your information is fully encrypted to keep the computer ninjas at bay. Safety and your privacy are our number one priority!

How do I get my boarding pass?

Your boarding pass will be available via email when you check-in.

As a gSaver Customer, you can check-in online within 24 hours and up to 3 hours before departure. Airport check-in attracts a N2,000 fee for gSaver and gClassic Customers.

As a gClassic or gFlex Customer, you can check-in online within 48 hours and up to 3 hours before departure. Airport check-in is available at no extra fee for gFlex Customers.

Once you have checked-in, you may download your boarding pass. Be sure to have your boarding pass accessible when at the airport.

Can I book a flight at the airport in person?

You can book a flight up to one hour before your flight at the airport for a fee of 2,000NGN.

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU  How To Give Birth In Canada As Non-Citizen

You can also book online at greenafrica.com up to one hour prior to flight departure or call the gCare Center on 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422) for a fee of 2,000NGN.

At what age can children travel alone?

A child must be at least 12 years old to travel alone as an unaccompanied minor. However, Green Africa does not accept unaccompanied minors for travel at this time.

When is the best time to book a flight?

In general, the earlier you book the better. While we can’t guarantee prices, they do tend to go up as departure dates get closer (especially over holidays and weekends).

I want to book a flight but can’t find the dates or routes I want.

All routes and dates listed on the website are active. If you cannot find a date or destination, the route may be seasonal or discontinued. We suggest signing up to the gFlyer Community on greenafrica.com to ensure you are kept in the loop on new routes or destinations.

My flight price has decreased since I booked, can I get a refund/reimbursement?

Green Africa fares are based on availability. Occasionally fares will drop due to marketing directives or temporary promotions. As noted in Green Africa’s terms and conditions, we cannot retroactively apply the current price to the booking you’ve already made (like purchasing fuel at a fuel station).

Why am I seeing changing prices while booking?

Prices are driven by demand for each flight at different flight times and as such, you may see different prices.

How can I book a large group?

If you are looking to book a group of 15 or more people for a destination wedding, sports event, family reunion, or any other large group event, send us a email at flycloser@greenafrica.com or bookings@greenafrica.com.

I have a middle name on my ID but not on my booking, do I need to add it?

Middle names are not a requirement for travel, and therefore it does not need to be added to your reservation. However, a traveler’s first and last name must match the identification they are using for travel.

Do you sell gift cards or vouchers?

Green Africa does not currently sell gift cards or vouchers. Alternatively, you can purchase a trip for someone as a gPresent! Be sure to check out our terms and conditions first.

Do you have a frequent flyer rewards program?

We’re flattered you love to fly with us! Green Africa believes in providing the best fares and service to maintain loyalty. If we decide to have a frequent flyer rewards program, we will let you know!

Why does my receipt show more bags or seats than I purchased? Was I charged twice?

Baggage and seats are charged each direction of your trip. They can be added to each leg of your flight independently. If you chose one bag (or seat) for both the outbound and return flights, this will show as two bags (or seats) on your receipt.

Why does the pricing calendar show a different price than the flight page?

There could be two possible reasons for this:

You are booking for a group or more than one person. We may have one fare left at the calendar price, but if there are 2 or more people flying, then we will show them the next lowest fare bucket.
Flight schedules are refreshed faster than the calendar

Please refer to the flight page for the most up-to-date availability and prices.

I’m having issues booking my 11 year old who turns 12 during the trip. Help!

The ages of passengers can only be entered once per booking. This may cause you to see an error when trying to book a passenger who has a birthday on your trip. This happens because Green Africa classifies passengers aged 0-2 as an infant, 2-11 as a child, and 12+ as an adult.

In this situation book two one-way trips; one as a child and one as an adult.

How many bags can I fly with?

Your baggage allowance is dependent on the fare product purchased.

As a gSaver Customer, you are entitled to 7kg carry-on baggage only.
As a gClassic Customer, you are entitled to 7kg carry-on baggage and 1 item, not weighing more than 15kg checked baggage.
As a gFlex Customer, you are entitled to 7kg carry-on baggage and 1 item, not weighing more than 23kg checked baggage.
For Infants, an additional 5kg checked baggage is allowed.

You can however purchase additional baggage on a per kg basis at the airport.

Excess bags (only 2 checked bags allowed)

What is the carry-on baggage dimension?

55cm x 40cm x 24cm is the dimension for carry-on baggage.

Examples include small suitcases, small duffel bags or backpacks.

Do I have to pay for a carry-on bag?

No! As long as it is not more than 7kg.

What is a personal item?

It is one small bag that all travelers can bring on for free. Think small backpack, purse, or laptop case. Your personal item must fit under the seat in front of you. The maximum dimension is 55cm x 40cm x 24cm. As long as it is not more than 7kg.

Can I bring a personal item for free?

Yes. Please note, a personal item must fit under the seat in front of you and must not be more than 7kg.

Maximum size: 55cm x 40cm x 24cm

Examples include purses, laptop bags, briefcases, small backpacks, tote bags.

When can I add bags to my booking?

This is currently available at the original time of booking your flight on the Green Africa website or while checking-in your flight online. You can also purchase additional baggage at the airport.

Is there a fee for changing my reservation?

Yes! There is a fee to change your reservation and it is dependent on the fare product purchased.

How do I make changes for only one person on the reservation?

Changes like this can be made by contacting our gCare center 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422). Please keep in mind change fees may apply.

Can I change only the time of my flight?

Yes! You can change the time of your flight via the Manage Booking link on the Green Africa website or by contacting our gCare center on 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422) Please keep in mind change fees may apply.

Can I change only one part of my trip?

Yes! You can change a part of your trip via the Manage Booking link on the Green Africa website or by contacting our gCare center on 0700-GREEN-AFRICA (0700-47336-237422) or 0708 060 8800. Please keep in mind change fees may apply.

What is your cancellation policy?

No voluntary cancellations are permitted for gSaver and gClassic fare products.

gFlex fare products allow for voluntary cancellations with refunds into your Green Africa wallet.

What is your missed flights policy?

We would like you to be on time for your flight, but we know that life happens.

Now you can reschedule missed flights with gWaiver.

This is for customers who get to the check-in counter later than 30 minutes to their flight departure time.

To reschedule missed flight with gWaiver, approach our airport ticketing counter or call the gCare on 0700GREENAFRICA.

Please note that gWaiver fees and applicable fare differences apply. gWaiver is no longer valid/applicable after the day of your missed flight.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *